Master in Charge: Mr Marc Brown

Hockey is Sponsored by:

 Axxess  lotto


Sponsors Report - Results to Date 2016



With a world-class water-based Astroturf, dedicated coaching staff, regular selections for South African age group teams and a growing list of Old Grey internationals, Grey hockey is as strong as it has ever been in its 53-year history. Strong competitive fixtures are played against most of the country’s top schools and Grey is a founder member of the Nomads hockey festival. Several overseas tours have been undertaken since the first one, to the UK, in 1982.
Interestingly enough, in amongst the new-age facilities and coaching techniques, one of the distinguishing features of Grey hockey is the age-old family connection. A remarkable number of fathers, sons, cousins and brothers have distinguished themselves as the game has grown into one of the school’s major sports.

SA Representatives (National Honours)

Matriculated at Grey

David Reid-Ross
Lindsay Reid-Ross
Russell Fensham
Wayne Fensham
Craig Timothy
Andy Procter (SA Indoor)
Wayne Graham (Captain)
Kevin Chree
Guy Hartley
Clyde Abrahams
Ian Symons
Chris Hibbert
Paul Blake
Adam Wilson
Peter Bailey
Dan Thysse (Umpire)
Brian Hibbert (Coach)

David Horan (Bermuda)            

Shane Schonegevel
Richard Dolley

The following boys also achieved provincial honours –

Hockey EP team

Eastern Cape U14A:

Nicholas Keevy, Nicholas Mitchell, Jordan Probert

Eastern Province U14A:

Bjorn Ruppelt, Cade Cambier, Michael Wicks, Ethan Breetzke (Grey Junior), Sean Carlson, Karl Dielmann, Ryan Finlay.

Eastern Province U16A:

Kyran Cooney, Luke Wynford, Brad  MacNaughton, Cody Posthumus, Storm Phillips, Stuart Grenfell, Ricky King, Cole Oliver.

Eastern Province U16B:

Liam Graham, Aaron Westcott, Richard Porter, Brad Breetzke, Jared Kirsten.

Eastern Province U18B:

Tyde Harrison, Jarryd Stansbury, Jared De Kock.



5 senior teams
9 junior teams 



1 x floodlit water-based Astroturf (Rectory Astro)
1 x grass field (Pollock field)


1st XI games are officiated by top Eastern Province umpires. Staff umpires are used, depending on capability.


Coaching Staff

The coaching staff comprises largely teachers, several of whom hold various portfolios (administrative, coaching, umpiring, managing) under the auspices of the EP Schools Hockey Board. 



1st XI

Mr Andrew Hibbert


Mr Marc Brown (MIC)

2nd XI

Mr Paul Blake

3rd XI

Mr George Symons

4th XI

Ms Catherine Wilson

5th XI

Mr Rod McCleland


Mr Jason Bigara


Mr Neil Bielby


Ms Kirsten Swarbrook


Mr Chris Townsin


Mrs Carla Barclay


Miss Kendal Pyle


Mr Richard Dolley


Mrs Anneliese van Niekerk


Ms Sarah Elliot


Mr Jason Trafford


Mr Jacques du Plessis




Administration Mr Marc Brown
EP Liaison Mr Marc Brown
Technical table Mr Jason Bigara
First Aid Mr Tyler Botha
Goalkeepers Mr Jaryd Heydenrych
Equipment Mr Mark Brown
Media Mrs Anneliese van Niekerk
Transport  Mr Gerhard Hills
Umpires Mr Marc Brown / Jason Bigara


Hockey Coach

Mr Andrew Hibbert

a hibbert

Andrew matriculated from Grey High School in 1991, having played for the 1st XI Hockey between 1989 and 1991 (64 caps). His hockey playing career highlights include: University of Port Elizabeth 1st XI (Eastern Province Hockey Federation Premier League winners in 1994, 1997 & 1998 and South African Universities champions in 1994); Old Grey 1st XI (EPHF Premier League winners in 2001); Hounslow & Ealing 1st XI (UK - Middlesex Cup winners in 2005); Eastern Province Men (South African champions in 2002 & 2003); EP u21 Indoor (SA u21 champions in 1994); as well as being selected for the South African Students XI in 1998. Aside from his heavy commitment as a player, Andrew has, over the years, been involved in the coaching of a variety of teams: UPE Ladies’ 1st XI (1998 & 1999 - EPHF Premier League champions in 1999); Old Grey Men’s 1st XI (2002, 2007-09); Eastbourne College (UK) Coaching Consultant (2005); Grey High School Coaching Consultant (2008); Eastern Province Men (2011). Andrew has been the 1st XI Coach at Grey High School since 2009, and is following in the footsteps of his father, Brian, a legend of Grey hockey from 1975 to 1996; whilst Chris, his younger brother, is a former South African goalkeeper with 118 Test caps to his name, and current Director of Sport and 1st XI Hockey coach at DSG in Grahamstown.