Congratulations to Mr Christian Erasmus on his appointment as Rector from January 2018. He is currently Executive Head of Penryn College.

Chris Erasmus


We also congratulate, Mr Anton Scholtz, as Deputy Headmaster with immediate effect.


Congratulations to the newly elected prefects for 2018.

Our Head Prefect for 2018 is Daniel Parker and the Deputy Head Prefect is CJ Greeff.



At assembly this morning, 28 September 2017, Grade 12 pupil Murray Schepers became only the 10th Grey boy to receive the prestigious Honours Blazer for extraordinary achievement. Murray has won an array of squash awards in recent years, and is currently ranked 2nd in SA Schools squash in South Africa.

• In 2015 ; He represented the South African under 16 Squash team which toured Malaysia and Hong Kong

• In both 2016 and 2017 he played at No. 1 in the unbeaten Grey High 1st Squash team, that won the Top Schools tournaments

• Played for the Eastern Province U19 squash team in 2016 at No. 2 and in 2017 at No 1. The 2016 EP team won gold and in 2017 silver at the National inter provincial

• Selected for the Eastern Province Mens Jarvis Cup team over the past two years

• 2016 : Voted the Eastern Province Mens squash player of the year award

• 2017 : Received the most promising South African Mens squash player award at Jarvis Cup

• In 2017, he has won the

• Ep u19 Squash Champion

• South African Closed u19 winner

• South African U19 Schools Champion

• Nationally ranked no 2 in the under 19 SA Schools rankings

• Recently Captained and played no. 2 for the SA under 19 team at the World u19 Championships in New Zealand,

We congratulate Murray Schepers on been the first Honours recipient for Squash


Photo – from left – Billy Schepers (father), Neil Bielby (director of sport), Murray Schepers, Neil Crawford (Rector), Karen Schepers (mother) and Jason Bigara (master in charge of squash).

Grey Boys' High School is extremely proud to have hosted the historic centenary meeting of this great Athletics Meeting.  Grey is even prouder of our athletes, who did their school proud on the day, and brought home the shield for Grey. 
Thank you to Mr Louis du Plessis, and Mr Sam Gunn for organising the event.

Hirsch GHS 2017


Grey High School hosted the Centenary Hirsch Shield, which is the oldest Schools athletics event in the Country. Many former Hirsch Shield greats were in attendance to celebrate the occasion and to reminisce over former meetings.
Grey won the Hirsch Shield for the first time since 1999, narrowly defeating St Andrews College (2nd) and Queens College (3rd) in a closely contested event. Sixteen Schools participated. Queens had won the event for the past 15 years.
The Grey stand out athletes, who won gold medals in the under19 section on the day were;
 Dylan Finlay 1500m and 3000m
Gerrick Rautenback shot put and discus
Waqar Solaan long jump
Bulumko Ntuthu, long jump
Grey High also won the U14 section, the Sammy Gunn Shield with Kingswood ending as runners up.
Framesby won the SF Edwards , the U16 section , narrowly pipping Selborne and Hangklip

Trophy winners
Under 19 section:
Mosenthal Trophy for Sprints trophy: Queens and St Andrew’s
Rogaly Trophy for  Middle Distances : Grey
Badcock Trophy  Field Events: Grey
O’Hare Cup for jumps: Grey
Olivier Trophy for Throws: Grey
Runners Up Shield: St Andrews
Hirsch Shield winner: Grey

Under 16 section
Howard Kirby Trophy for Sprints: Hangklip
Doug Coghlan Trophy for middle distance: Framesby
Joe Turner Trophy for Field events: Daniel Pienaar
Breytenbach Trophy for the Runner up: Selborne
SF Edwards Trophy to the winner: Frameby

Under 14 Section
Mike Banby for sprints: Kingswood
Leon Jacobs for middle distance: Framesby
Louis Du Plessis for field events: Queens
Runners up: Kingswood
Sammy Gunn Shield to winners: Grey

Grey Matter
Grey Junior
Old Greys' Union
School Shop